The 2018-19 Annual Report reflects all donations received by Friends Seminary between July 1, 2018 and June 30, 2019. Charitable donations are an essential and growing part of the School's budget. We are most grateful to our generous donors who support the Fund for Friends, the endowment and capital projects, as well as our dedicated volunteers whose achievements are essential to helping Friends “bring about a world that ought to be.”


Great care has been taken in preparing this report to make it as accurate as possible. If you should note an inaccuracy, please notify us at 646-979-5054 or advancement@friendsseminary.org, so that we may amend our records. The Annual Report is only available through the friendsseminary.org website and is not available to search engines.

*Please note: The Fund for Friends was formerly named the Annual Fund.


The Friends Seminary community is characterized by its extraordinary generosity and by its dedication to service. Thank you to all the volunteers who gave that most precious resource—time—in service of the School.



Matthew Annenberg ’83, Co-Clerk

Dot Cates

Kennedy Cogan

Liz Di Giorgio

Mark Doty ’86

Elizabeth Enloe, Co-Clerk

Nicole Fox

Gideon Gil

Isaac Henderson

Buxton Midyette

Jeffrey Penn

Eric Quiñones

Peter Rahbar

Benjamin Smith

Ann Sullivan

Carol Warner




Parent Co-Chairs


Emma Daly 

Robyn Rahbar

Brian Sampson

Liselotte Vince

Parent Committee


Marilou Aquino 

Graciela Bergner 

Catherine Bindman 

Rebecca Borden

Mary Bowers 

Michelle Cherande 

Kennedy Cogan

Susie Coulter

Stephen Fefferman

Ning Gao

Adwina Gil

Dana L. Glass

Stefanie Goldblatt

Christine Grounds 

Jared Hendricks

Michelle Ingber

Dahlia Isaacson

Rebekah Klipper

Luciana McKee

Rachel Miles

Amanda Southon Miller ’84

Steve Miller

Mitzi Ming

Marina Niceta de Palazzi 

Kimberly Oliva

Katie & Grant Palmer

Jennifer Rubenstein

Robyn Sorid 

Evert Vink

Mindy Welsh 

Adrianne Weremchuk


Alumni Class Agents  (in class year order)


Margaret Dorkey McCormick ’42

Jackson R. Bryer ’55

Stephen G. Rostand ’57

Frederic J. Buse ’59

Catherine Munnell Smith ’60

Randall K. Nichols ’62

Sarah E. Paul ’78

Darcy Vassiliadis Flanders ’79

Brin McCagg ’80

Marc Rachman ’82

Jason Ablin ’83

Amanda Southon Miller ’84

Schuyler Allen-Kalb ’86

Rachel Shapiro Axinn ’86

Jocelyn Anker ’87

Cory Diamond ’88

Alexandra Mairs Tart ’88

Stephanie Davis Hazelkorn ’94

Seth Goldberger ’95

Evan Pazner ’95

Lynne DeSilva-Johnson ’97

Robin McKinney ’98

Jessica Ernst Kerns ’00

Richard Barbieri ’02

Benjamin Messinger-Barnes ’05

Nailah Cummings ’06

Juliet Kaye ’06

Lena Bell ’08

Evan Olonoff ’08

Max Willner ’08

Tory Brewster ’09

Andrew Hinkle ’11

Hugo Torres-Fetsco ’11

Tamar Davis ’12

Christian Hoyos ’13

Shivanii Manglani ’13

Dyulani Thomas ’13

Scout Eisenberg ’15

Sam Harris ’15

India Woolmington ’16

Javin Bose ’17

Eitan Z. Darwish ’17

Rachel S. Hodes ’17

Max Nitke ’18

Arya Singh ’18

Grandparent Chair


Priscilla J. Southon


Parents of Alumni Chair


Judi Silverstein


Alumni Council Fundraising Committee (in class year order)


Edes Powell Gilbert ’49

Derrick Gibbs ’72

Amanda Southon Miller ’84

Charlotte Greenough ’01

Hugo Torres-Fetsco ’11


Alumni Council Co-Clerks (in class year order)


Amanda Southon Miller '84

Rachel Colberg-Parseghian '07


Alumni Council (in class year order)


Edes Powell Gilbert '49

Edward Carroll '56

Rick Casten '59

Susan Poole '66

Derrick Gibbs '72

Julie R. Fenster '75

Weston Konishi '89

Joy Rivera '91

Helen Rhim '93 

Evan Pazner '95

Fred T. Isquith, Jr. '00

Charlotte Greenough '01

Christopher Fisher-Lochhead '02

Naledi Semela '06

Evan Olonoff '08

Hugo Torres-Fetsco '11


Benefit Auction Co-Chairs


Tracey Flynn

Carrie Green

Patricia Machado


Benefit Auction Committee


Mary Bowers

Lindsey Boyd

Luigi Caiola

Holly Faulkner

Norman Feit ’74

Alexis Flippin

Kimberly Hall

Regina Haymes

Ami Javeri

Kristen Koh

Fran Lebovitz

Brad Miles

Jennifer Miller

George Niblock

Katie Palmer

Heather Perlman

Briony Raymond

Eve Robbins

Sarah Safer

Valerie Shulman

Allison Sullens

Jill Zenker


Auction Art Co-Chairs


Rachel Judlowe

Michelle Landers

Bo Lauder


Auction Art Committee


Catherine Bindman

Debra Bosniak

Robert Burge

Sean Cavanaugh ’87

Janet Cohen

Andrea Crane ’86

Purdy Eaton

Victoria Gore

Patrik Graham

Sheree Hovsepian

LaVon Kellner

George H. Lewis

Dara Metz

Matthew H. Miller ’98

Harper Montgomery

Eleanor Heyman Propp

Jennifer Sidel

Peter Stevens

Jennifer Toth

Tanya Traykovski


Lunar New Year Co-Chairs


JiaYu Lin 

Julia Tung 

Lunar New Year Committee


David Bell

Andrea Feng

Jean Chae Hahn

Jeannie Choice

Liling Huang

Carla Lau

Hannah Lee

Lynn Lin

Susan Lin 

Ioanna Mentzelopoulou

Sarin Sinawat-Koo

Katie Sudol


Parent Association Executive Committee


Andrea Rachman, Co-President

Kristi Ribbecke, Co-President

Ashley Kreisler, Lower School VP

Helen Niblock, Lower School VP

Jennifer Willard, Lower School VP

Jessica DeCoux, Middle School VP

Barbara Knappmeyer, Middle School VP

Sarah Safer, Middle School VP

Jamie Levitt, Upper School VP

Wendy Nelson, Upper School VP

Hollis Salzman, Upper School VP

PJ Malladi, Communicator

Krista Annenberg, Treasurer

Jennifer Sherman, Service Committee Senior Chair

Julie Smock, Service Committee Junior Chair

Penny Hays, Diversity and Inclusion Senior Chair

Jeffrey Penn, Diversity and Inclusion Junior Chair


Senior Gift Committee


Steffani Aarons 

Frances Boswell 

Emma Daly

Jamie Levitt 

Sydney Rosenkranz

Sara Stone 

Madeline Vaz 

Senior Dinner Co-Chairs


Jamie Levitt 

Gayle Levy


Senior Dinner Committee


Steffani Aarons 

Anna Backer

Frances Boswell 

Emma Daly

Patricia Mathews 

Karyn Pappas

Sydney Rosenkranz

Sara Stone

Madeline Vaz 

Karyn Zieve 


Office of Institutional Advancement


Katherine Precht, Director of Institutional Advancement

Judy Brown, Director of Annual Giving

Chris Chrzanowski, Database Manager

Amanda Goodman, Director of Alumni Relations

Rebecca Holmes, Director of Major Gifts and Planned Gifts

Geny Kimbrell, Special Events Manager and Advancement Associate

Vessy Shestorkina, Benefit Auction Director and Stewardship Manager

Susan Wilen, Campaign Director